Confessions of a Yoga Teacher

beachyoga

1. It makes me so happy when you take a break!

I talk about giving yourself permission to take a break all the time, but when it happens…it is like angels sing and bells are ringing! I’m so proud of you for taking care of yourself!

 2. Teaching is the best part of my day

Well, it’s a close second to hugging my man and petting my dogs, but it’s up there. I love teaching you and sharing with you. I feel engaged, alive, and full of love. This is not just a job to me. This is a passion.

3. I’ll never get over the fear that no one will come

From the time I get to the studio to the time the first student arrives, I do feel a lot of anxiety that I’ve set all this up for naught. That no one likes my class and no one will come. See: everyone has self-esteem issues!

4. I love folding towels

I LOVE folding towels. I’ve figured out how to fold almost any shape of towel into the same sized square. It is satisfying and meditative and domestic and I LOVE it.

5. I want you to succeed

I don’t make class hard because I want to see you fall on your face. When you grow and become stronger and more patient and centered…I feel like I was a part of it and that makes me feel awesome.

6. I’m not a vegetarian

I was a pescatarian for two years, but now I’m an omnivore. There. I said it.

7. I’m not religious…

I’m wary of the word “God” and won’t say that in class. All I know for sure is how little I know for sure, so I try to stay humble. It is in the spirit of humility I put my hands together and say OM.

8. But a voice told me to teach

I was in a bookstore 4 years ago reading “Four Hour Work Week.” There is a part of that book where the author assumes you have now become a millionaire, and he asks you what you’d like to do with your time. I heard a voice in my head say as clear as day, TEACH YOGA. So I do.

9. I had a falling out with yoga

There was brief time in my life, after I was already a teacher, when I stepped away from yoga. Now, talking with other teachers and practitioners, I realize this is not an unusual part of a yogic journey.

10. I’m not a perfect yogi

I get mad over little things, I only clean the house on Sundays, there are people I haven’t forgiven, I don’t always carry my re-useable coffee cup, I get impatient easily. I’m not perfect. I don’t teach you from a place of accomplishment, I teach you from a place of camraderie in the journey.

5 thoughts on “Confessions of a Yoga Teacher

  1. It’s nice to hear that a teacher is human and not always super human. As a student I sometimes find myself putting the teacher up on a pedestal and saying to myself ” if only I could do that” or ” be like her/him”. It’s nice to be reminded they came to the mat the same way I did – one step at a time.

  2. Ali!! I think this is my favorite post of all time. I LOVED it! You are SUCH an incredibly gifted instructor. I feel like you already teach class from a place of “hey, I get it and I’m here with you through this”, but it’s so nice to see all of these thoughts in writing.

  3. I love this site and your Philosophy as a teacher. Wish I could attend your classes but alas you are on the other side of the country…

Tell Ali all about it!

