More classic rock and yoga

My friend Ross (you know Ross) casually laid down some PURE GENIUS on me.

“Yoga” to the tune of “Lola” by the Kinks.

I highly recommend playing the song as you sing Ross’s lyrics over-top so you can see just how subtle and thoughtful this send-up is.
I begged him to let me put the lyrics up on this here blog, and thank GOODNESS he said yes, because the world should not be denied this masterpiece!!!
You’ll be humming this all day.
I gave up my membership down at the gym
where all they drink is
protein shakes and diet cola, c-o-l-a cola
Then I saw this chick contortin’ on the grass
I said, “What’s that called, girl, if I may ask?”
She said yoga, y-o-g-a yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
Well, I’m not the world’s most flexible guy,
but when I did a wheel I nearly broke my spine,
oh with yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
Well, I’m not dumb but I can’t understand
how she reached through her legs to her back with her hands,
oh with yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
Well, we sat into padmasana
and worked on controlling our prana.
While standing up and posing like a tree,
she said, “Dear boy, won’t you say aum with me?”
Well, I’m not the world’s most spiritual guy,
but when I heard that sound I felt it deep inside
thanks to yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
I leaned on my hands
I got up in crow
I fell to the floor
I got in child’s pose
Then I breathed out and inhaled deeply
That’s the way that I want it to stay
I always want it to be that way
doing yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
Strength is for boys, feelings are for girls
It’s a mixed up, muddled up, shook up world
except for yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
Well, I left home just a week before
and I’d never said Namaste before,
but that yogini showed me how it was done
and said, “Dear boy, we’re gonna salute the sun!”
Well, I’m not the world’s most masculine man,
but I know what I am and I’m glad I’m a man
who studies yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga
yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga, yo-yo-yo-yo-yoga!
2 thoughts on “More classic rock and yoga

Tell Ali all about it!

